top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Foulk

Seeking a Moose

Have you ever been so pressed for money that you start a GoFundMe to go to Anchorage for the Iditarod? No? Just me… odd. This whole adventure is sponsored by Cat because she is obsessed with the Iditarod and if it weren’t for her, I would not have been able to experience such an Alaskan event.

I had been going back and forth between going to Anchorage for the Iditarod or staying in Juneau for quite some time. The one thing that was holding me back was the fact that I am a poor college student and I had to still make monthly payments towards my tuition L. Someone had brought up the idea to start a GoFundMe which I thought would never work but boy I was wrong. I hesitantly created the account, posted it on Facebook as one does and waited. Soon I got my first donation and I allowed myself to get a little excited about the possibility of leaving Juneau. Fun fact Juneau, Alaska has no roads leading out to other places so you either have to fly or take the ferry out which is really cool and also a hassle. I eventually reached my goal which was an amazing feeling. I cried a little bit because dreams really do come true and I want to thank everyone who supported this crazy idea. For a long while I only had a ticket to Anchorage with no return flight which is a little scary having the thought that I might be stranded and have no way of returning back to Juneau. That then changed when I got my paycheck and was able to buy the second ticket and could breathe a little easier.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Take the PLUNGE

Whalefest, specifically, the polar plunge, is one of the most talked about events that happens at UAS Southeast. Tons of students and faculty come together to jump into the harbor and drink hot chocol

To The Glacier We Go!!!

What do you do when other exchangers invite you to hike 6 miles to a glacier? You say yes. The advice I got from pretty much everyone before I left was to say yes to everything and I definitely have f

Off to Alaska

I've left my family many times before to head to the University of South Carolina and figured that I would be emotionally prepared to leave again for a few months. I woke up all my little brothers to

bottom of page